Space and Sparrows

 lunar.jpg

I had a blog post in mind for today that I’ve decided to put on hold until tomorrow. Why? Because I stuck my head out our front door this evening to get a glimpse of the lunar eclipse and have been thinking about it ever since.

The very first words of the Bible say that “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” Genesis paints a magnificent picture of God creating our planet and others, and of his spirit hovering over Earth before unleashing a torrent of creation – light, water, land, plants, animals, and ultimately us. Seeing the Earth’s shadow cast upon the moon was a reminder of how big he is, and how small the moon and sun are relative to him.

But somehow, we’re not small to him. He created this for us. He created us for him.

In Jesus, God entered our world to bridge our relationship with him. While he was here, he informed us that God doesn’t forget even a single sparrow in his creation, and that we’re far more valuable to him than sparrows (Luke 12). He has our names written on his hand (Isa 49:16); he knows the number of hairs on our head.

And what does this have to do with work? Well, it’s no accident that we spend so much time there. He designed us to serve others, and he created us as representatives (those that literally “re-present”) him to the world around us. The God of our lunar eclipse cares about our where we work, how we work, those with whom we work, and I’d suggest that if he knows how many hairs I’ve got, he probably knows how many will turn grey this year because of my job. He may have created the Sun, but everything we know of him through the Bible and our own experience suggests that he cares about whatever might be challenging you and me at work today.

Amazing.

One Response

  1. I loved it that you called me to look out my window too. It amazed me that I could sit there in comfort and gaze out at something so beautiful. It amazes me that I can sit anywhere and have access to the God who created such beauty and precision. Thanks for your thoughts and reflections on this.

Leave a Reply

