We’re surrounded.

Happy Monday, friends. I hope your weekend was enjoyable and your Sabbath a relaxing one. Before I get into today’s post, I wanted to give you a head’s up that next week will be dedicated to posts about job transitions. So if you’ve got a friend or family member that hates their job, is desperately seeking a job, or is scared of losing their job, make sure you ask them to tune in.

 coworker-small.jpg 

Last Friday marked the end of my company’s fiscal year, and with it, the retirement of a guy I really like. Rich is a VP that has been with our company for over 25 years, but I never thought he got stale. He’s one of those veterans that has grown wise and freely offers what he knows while not discounting the input of the rookies on the team. It’s true that he who “walks with the wise grows wise” (Prov 13), and over the last couple of years I’ve gotten to learn a thing or two from Rich, and I’m proud to consider him a friend.

As is customary, he sent out an e-mail to his distribution list letting everyone know that it was his last day and offering a little perspective. I’ve left organizations in the past so I know how difficult it can be to write these kind of notes. I can’t imagine how much tougher it would be trying to draft one that looks back on a career’s worth of experience. Curious to know what he offered in the way of advice? Here’s a portion of what he said,

When all the dust settles, it becomes clear that it is, and always will be, about ‘the people.’  I have had the honor of working side by side with each of you over the years and cannot put into words how much I learned, how much fun we had, and just your overall impact on my life today and into the future. I could never have imagined that I would spend almost half of my life working with so many people that you would first call a friend and then a co-worker/business associate. It sure has been a fast 25 years. I recommend you not wait until you are about to retire before you take the time to fully appreciate those around you.”

I hope that all of us can look back over careers filled with good memories and abundant blessings.  We know that “every good and perfect gift comes from above” (Jas 1) but sometimes we forget that those gifts are sitting in the cube next to us.

One Response

  1. absolutely right… after our company went through a gut wrenching downsizing a few years ago, we all ached together, with and for the good people who left… and while some later had stories along the lines of, “It hurt, but it was the best thing for me… i was stale and i’m alive again… there IS life out here,” most looked back at least semi-fondly.

    without exception, the thing most missed was the people… those day-to-day relationships we take for granted and surf across the top of most of the time.

    in the end, of course, it’s about our ultimate relationships… God, our families, and so on… but, we need to remember and rejoice in the wonder of all these complex entities we call “co-workers” who cross our path every day, awash in their own life, challenges and plans…

    not sure who it was who said, “Life is what happens while we’re planning to do something else,” (more or less said that anyway), but it couldn’t be more true with the people we are blessed to learn with everyday.

Leave a Reply

