Listening ears

ear1.jpg

Listen. Do not have an opinion while you listen because frankly, your opinion doesn’t hold much water outside of Your Universe. Just listen. Listen until their brain has been twisted like a dripping towel and what they have to say is all over the floor.” – Hugh Elliott

Have you ever had one of those moments at work when you think, “Man, I’ve been talking a lot here. I should really hush up in case someone is getting sick of me talking.”?

I’ve had a few of those moments lately. I’ve been working on a project by myself for a couple of months and now that I’m part of a new team, it’s like my thoughts are a dog ready to escape its kennel and jump all over the first willing visitor who comes by.  I mentioned this to my boss who told me that his dad used to tell him, “If you keep your mouth shut, you’ll end up knowing what you know… and what they know.” I like that.

The Bible has quite a bit to say about listening. James says that everyone should be “quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry” (Jas 1:19). It’s true, when I listen more I tend to feel calmer and act more rationally, which is a good thing at work.  Proverbs 10:19 reads, “Too much talking leads to sin. Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.”

Okay, okay God. I hear ya.

5 Responses

  1. Ha! Yeah I have those moments, why just last week I was visiting with someone and thought just that, “I’m talking too much.” A lot of people I’m around are wiser and slower to speak than me and I find myself compelled to fill the void with chatter sometimes. As I get older myself, I find that I’m getting better at holding my tongue but I’ve got a way to go.

  2. Oh, do I need to meditate on these words today. I love the dog escaping the kennel picture. THis is a lifelong struggle for me. Thank you for the excellent thought and quotes you have presented here.

  3. Listening is an art. My problem is not talking too much but is more thinking ahead in the discussion or altogether mentally drifting to another topic. Listening involves staying focus on the other person’s needs and not your own. This can be a challenge to my self-centered self.

  4. Great post! I struggle with the same issue. I’m in technology consulting, and my clients pay me to talk. But sometimes I find myself talking way too much before I even listen. Luke 6:45 says “For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.”

    Thanks for the reminder to shut up and be still.🙂 Like you, doing that makes me feel calmer and more thoughtful.

    I found your site via a comment left on Marquita’s blog – glad I did! I’ll be checking here often.

    Blessings,
    Darren

  5. I have, in the past few years, been a recipient of the enriching gift that listening can be. I am also working towards…listening, and hearing more, to also share this great gift with others, growing along the way. Well framed.

Leave a Reply

