A resume of three strands

rope-2.jpg

“The godly offer good counsel; they teach right from wrong.” – Psalm 37:30

As you can probably tell from most of my posts, I think a lot about God’s role in our work lives. But what I don’t write about as much is the other secret weapon in my career arsenal – my wife. She’s my partner in life and my personal career counselor.

“Who can find a virtuous and capable wife? She is more precious than rubies. Her husband can trust her, and she will greatly enrich his life. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” (Proverbs 31:10-12)

The old saying, “behind every good man is a good woman” is certainly true in my case. My work issues, aspirations, frustrations, and celebrations all get communicated to my wife on a daily basis, and I couldn’t be happier that I have her as my chief adviser. She’s never worked a day in the corporate workplace, yet she listens well and gives wise counsel. She always directs me back to what is Godly and her wisdom has made me much more successful on many levels.

One of the verses that we chose for our wedding years ago was Ecc 4:10, “A cord of three strands is not easily broken.” We chose it as a reminder that a relationship with Christ at the center endures, and that’s of incredible value on those days when you’re hanging by a string at work!

7 Responses

  1. awwwww. I love you too sweety, you are my human credentials.

  2. Amen, Ryan. I can’t tell you the many number of times, Ann was my wise counsel in so many professional decisions. It’s kinda like having a life time supply of “got your back”

  3. What an honoring post!

  4. What a precious tribute to God and Jill.

  5. Brownnoser!

    Kidding, only kidding!

    Great post. Stumbled across your blog and I really like what I’ve read so far.

    In Christ,
    Chris
    http://sharpeningiron.wordpress.com/

  6. Got to love the woman in our lives. I know I don’t show my wife all the appreciation she deserves. Thanks for the reminder.

  7. ryan… the obvious cheap shot here is that your comment, “behind a good man…” presumes a fair bit… who says? well, it happens i do… you are one of the gems i treasure as a friend… a gift… and we’re up for the Feast for Kids for sure.. dave

Leave a Reply

