Seeking and receiving rest

sunset1.jpg

I’m tired. Our youngest child was up for hours last night with what I can only assume was a teething problem. As a result, I’ve felt like a zombie all day.

This isn’t the first time that I’ve dragged myself through a workday. There are those inevitable unexpected demands (Red Wings games) that come up in the course of a week that require us to get less sleep than required. And there have been times when I’m exhausted not from lack of sleep, but from the sheer stress and chaos encountered during the workday.

I’ve learned the hard way that we need rest not only to function in our work activities, but to function well spiritually. I know that being tired makes me less productive, less patient with coworkers, and according to a recent article, fat. It’s pretty tough to be a good representation of Christ when you’re staring at your computer monitor, sniping at the person next to you, or stealing their morning danish. Mmm… danish.

If you missed this post, I believe strongly that one great way to stay physically replenished is by taking a Sabbath each week. Beyond taking a Sabbath (and the eight hours of sleep that I fully intend to get each night post-playoffs) we can seek mental rest from the challenges of the daily grind through Jesus. In, Matthew 11:28-30, Jesus said,

Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

A yoke is a wooden frame that was used in Jesus’ day to hitch two oxen together while plowing a field. If Jesus is willing to be yoked with us – to be hitched with us to share in our burdens and lighten our load during the demands of our days – then we should take a moment to seek him during the day. That’s a prayer that shouldn’t wait until bedtime.

One Response

  1. Amen to that. Thanks Ryan.

Leave a Reply

