Walking a good race

race-shoes.jpg

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” (Hebrews 12:1)

Ever notice how many times the Bible refers to our lives of faith as a race? I’m not sure about you, but sometimes my race seems like a gingerly-paced walk. Maybe a brisk walk, on a good day. I love my wife’s story of her running on the track team in high school. She says that when the coach or the crowd was watching, she ran. When she went behind trees, she walked. Sometimes I feel like the work week is one very long stretch of evergreens.

In keeping with this week’s theme of posts inspired by Christian songs, today I’d like to share a song that many of you might already know – Walk By Faith by Jeremy Camp. I think he’s got a fantastic voice, and this is one of his most popular songs.

There have been those moments at work when I feel like I’ve really made a difference in someone’s life. Either a coworker needs a listening ear and I’m around to listen, or someone has a spiritual question and comes to me to discuss it. But these are rare moments. Most days consists of strings of meetings (six different ones today, overlapping each other to fill every minute of the workday), staring a computer screen, or other rote work activities.

In those times when it just doesn’t seem like being a Christian in the workplace matters a whole heck of a lot, it’s up to us to choose to live by faith. Doing so consists of making many small choices every day that honor God, and choosing to trust in him to direct our paths. Hopefully, like the apostle Paul, we can get to the end our careers and our lives and be able to say, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” (2Tim 4:7)

Leave a Reply

