Where’s the fruit?

Remember Clara, that old lady in the “Where’s the Beef?” commercials. I loved those commercials (I know that I’m dating myself here). Well today I had a Clara moment.

I was headed into a meeting that I really didn’t want to be in. I had some frustrations that I feared would inappropriately be visible to others and I took a couple of minutes beforehand to try and flush things out in my head. The question that popped into it was, “Where’s the fruit?” The fruit meaning, of course, the fruit of the Spirit.

Paul writes to the church at Galatia in Galatians 5:22 that there are certain behaviors that should be visible in those following Christ that are now commonly referred to as the “fruits” of the Holy Spirit.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”

As I refelected upon these qualities, I found myself asking the Lord for a little help. I’ve learned the hard way that it’s easy to say that you’re a Christian but it’s in these moments when that claim is either substantiated or proves to be just fluff (or just hamburger bun). I can’t say that I actually spent any time during the meeting specifically thinking about any of them, but giving them a moments worth of mediation and prayer certainly helped. The meeting went just fine and I think I managed to not appear immature or hostile despite my frustrations. Thanks Lord!

Leave a Reply

