Little to offer

 

Meetings, meetings, meetings. Short meetings, long meetings, impromptu meetings, scheduled meetings, formal meetings, laid-back meetings, fun meetings and not-so-fun meetings. Today was a day of meetings. Actually, it’s not just today. I’m going to begin telling my family that instead of heading of to work each morning, I’m heading off to meetings.

I like most meetings, but there’s one kind that I hate – those meetings where I feel I’ve got nothing to offer. Ever been in one of these? Everyone is heading down a path that you either don’t like or understand, or perhaps you just feel like you got invited by mistake, and you sit there thinking, “I should really offer something – anything – of value to this conversation.” That was me this afternoon.

I don’t like those moments because I feel that without an offering I have no value to the group (and in honesty, perhaps that’s the case), but I’m SO thankful that we don’t need to feel that way spiritually. We are God’s children, redeemed by his sacrifice, not ours. God told the Israelites through the prophet Hosea (a great and very interesting book, if you’ve not read it) that,

“I want you to show love, not offer sacrifices.
I want you to know me more than I want burnt offerings.” (Hosea 6:6)

Our workplace will always ask us to offer more, but it’s a wonderful thing that God’s deepest desire (just as our deepest disire for our kids) is for us to know and love him.

2 Responses

  1. Great post–so true. I also like the rewroding of the advise–“Don’t just stand there, do something.” Sometimes it is better to “Don’t just do something, stand there.” Maybe you are “standing there” in those meetings for reasons not known to you at the moment, but for reasons only God knows.

  2. Ryan, I pretty regularly feel that way, and you’re right it is such a comfort and a gift to know that He accepts and loves us, just as we are. Thanks for the great post!

Leave a Reply

