Quiet and productive

Normally something in the course of the workday spurs some sort of blogging inspiration for me. That’s one of the reasons I enjoy blogging so much – knowing that I’ll be blogging later helps encourage me to see the events of the day through a Christian worldview. Today though, I really didn’t do much. In fact, I spent virtually the entire day sitting in a project room, getting through a major backlog of e-mail and occasionally taking a phone call. Not very exciting.

So I sat down a little while ago and began thinking about what I should post about tonight, when a scripture popped into my head. After Googling it, I found it was from 1 Thessalonians 4:11-12:

Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.

Who woulda thunk it? Sitting in one place and getting stuff done turns out to be a Biblically-approved way to spend the work day! Actually, there was no one else in that project room (and it didn’t even have windows), so I’m not sure who’s respect I was trying to earn.  Either way, it was nice to catch up a little and praise the Lord for that!

Leave a Reply

