The gift of music

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” – Matthew 7:13-14

I got thinking earlier about the music I listen to throughout the work day. I listen to just about everything, from classical to hip-hop, but Christian music offers something unique – perspective. I turn to TobyMac for energy, Nichole Nordeman to chill me out, and Third Day for a moment of worship. But there’s one song that I lean on more than others – This Road by Jars of Clay. There are those moments, and unfortunately they happen more than I’d like to admit, when I totally lose perspective on the role of work in my life. Of course our significance as humans isn’t dependent up on our careers or whatever issues we’re caught up in during the work day, but sometimes we need a reminder of that fact. The song for me is a simple reminder that we’re on a road that God has laid out for us… and our sole purpose is to cling to our Creator as the one who shepherds us down that road and provides us the energy and joy that sometimes can’t be found on it.

Here it is for your listening pressure. And by the way, I connect with the song much more than the video… it’s just one of those songs that works better without visuals…

One Response

  1. Good song–I agree

Leave a Reply

